Parliamentary life of Atal jee

Atal Bihari Vajpayee brings with him a vast parliamentary experience spanning over five decades. He became a Member of Parliament for the first time in 1957. He was elected to the 5th, 6th and 7th Lok Sabha and again to the 10th, 11th, 12th and 13th Lok Sabha. He was also a Member of the Rajya Sabha in 1962 and 1986. He was elected to Parliament from Lucknow in Uttar Pradesh for five times consecutively. He is the only parliamentarian in India to have been elected from four different States — UP, Gujarat, MP and Delhi.

Vajpayee has served on a number of important Committees of Parliament. He was the Chairman, Committee on Government Assurances (1966-67); Chairman, Public Accounts Committee (1967-70); Member, General Purposes Committee (1986); Member, House Committee and Member, Business Advisory Committee, Rajya Sabha (1988-90); Chairman, Committee on Petitions, Rajya Sabha (1990-91); Chairman, Public Accounts Committee, Lok Sabha (1991-93); Chairman, Standing Committee on External Affairs (1993-96).

Widely travelled, Vajpayee is known for his keen interest in international affairs, upliftment of Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes, women and child welfare. Some of his visits abroad include: - Member, Parliamentary Goodwill Mission to East Africa, 1965; Parliamentary Delegation to Australia, 1967; European Parliament, 1983; Canada, 1987; Indian delegation to Commonwealth Parliamentary Association held in Canada, 1966 and 1994, Zambia, 1980, Isle of Man 1984, Indian delegation to Inter-Parliamentary Union Conference, Japan, 1974; Sri Lanka, 1975; Switzerland, 1984; Indian Delegation to the UN General Assembly, 1988, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993 and 1994; Leader, Indian Delegation to the Human Rights Commission Conference, Geneva, 1993.

A summary of various positions held by Shri Atal ji:

  • 1951 - Founder-Member, Bharatiya Jana Sangh (B.J.S)
  • 1957 - Elected to 2nd Lok Sabha
  • 1957-77 - Leader, Bharatiya Jana Sangh Parliamentary Party
  • 1962 - Member, Rajya Sabha
  • 1966-67- Chairman, Committee on Government Assurances
  • 1967 - Re-elected to 4th Lok Sabha (2nd term)
  • 1967-70 - Chairman, Public Accounts Committee
  • 1968-73 - President, Bharatiya Jana Sangh.
  • 1971 - Re-elected to 5th Lok Sabha (3rd term)
  • 1977 - Re-elected to 6th Lok Sabha (4th term)
  • 1977-79 - Union Cabinet Minister, External Affairs
  • 1977-80 - Founder- Member, Janata Party
  • 1980 - Re-elected to 7th Lok Sabha (5th term)
  • 1980-86- President, Bharatiya Janata Party (B.J.P.)
  • 1980-84, 1986 and 1993-96 - Leader, B.J.P. Parliamentary Party
  • 1986 - Member, Rajya Sabha; Member, General Purposes Committee
  • 1988-90 - Member, House Committee; Member, Business Advisory Committee
  • 1990-91- Chairman, Committee on Petitions
  • 1991- Re-elected to 10th Lok Sabha (6th term)
  • 1991-93 - Chairman, Public Accounts Committee
  • 1993-96 - Chairman, Committee on External Affairs; Leader of Opposition, Lok Sabha
  • 1996 - Re-elected to 11th Lok Sabha (7th term)
  • 16 May 1996 - 31 May 1996 - Prime Minister of India; Minister of External Affairs and also in-charge of Ministries/Departments of Chemicals and Fertilizers, Civil Supplies, Consumer Affairs and Public Distribution, Coal, Commerce, Communications, Environment and Forests, Food Processing Industries, Human Resource Development, Labour, Mines, Non-Conventional Energy Sources, Personnel, Public Grievances and Pension, Petroleum and Natural Gas, Planning and Programme Implementation, Power, Railways, Rural Areas and Employment, Science and Technology, Steel, Surface Transport, Textiles, Water Resources, Atomic Energy, Electronics, Jammu & Kashmir Affairs, Ocean Development, Space and other subjects not allocated to any other Cabinet Minister
  • 1996-97 - Leader of Opposition, Lok Sabha
  • 1997-98 - Chairman, Committee on External Affairs
  • 1998 - Re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (8th term)
  • 1998-99 - Prime Minister of India; Minister of External Affairs; and also in-charge of Ministries / Departments not specifically allocated to the charge of any Minister
  • 1999- Re-elected to 13th Lok Sabha (9th term)
  • 13 Oct.1999 to 13 May 2004- Prime Minister of India and also in charge of the Ministries / Departments not specifically allocated to the charge of any Minister